That First Look

He asked me 121 times before I said yes.

I’m holding a bouquet of perfect flowers made with loving, generous hands. My shoes are lightly tapping down the stone path and all of a sudden – the world has melted away. He’s standing with his back to me, and I’m dying for him to turn around.

Wait just a second, the photographer whispers.

I can’t handle my excitement and I’m standing, fidgeting. Waiting.

The photographer nods to him, and he turns around slowly – and just like that, he’s smiling the same silly, excited smile as me.

It’s all a blurred memory, but when he finally asked,

Will you marry me today?

I finally answered, “yes.”

Leave a Reply

