Happy Mother’s Day Isn’t Enough

945723_10152841552300529_1963659633_nIt’s Mothers Day.

Everyone around me is talking about how great their mom is. No, you don’t get it – my mom is really the best. As if one mom could really be the best in the world.

Just like the rest of my friends, I instagrammed a photo of us this morning with a short-snippet of why she’s the greatest mom that ever lived. [No, really.] Still, I felt guilty because a shout-out on Facebook or Instagram doesn’t even come close to the stretch marks, wrinkles, hours of lost sleep, thousands of dollars, non-stop sacrificial love that she has given me (freely) for 23 years.

A blog post, a phone call, Old Amish coffee, and whatever other little gifts I’ve sent in the past few weeks doesn’t make up for even a day of her sacrifice.

I guess that’s how life is, right? Or at least – how it should be. Sacrifice without expectations or assumptions. Love without restrictions or return.

So, meet my mother. If you already know her, you know that I’m not exaggerating when I say that she is patient, kind, easy-going, pleasant, encouraging to her children and husband, and the glue holding our family together.

She taught me to cook (like really cook), to be content, to be more patient with my siblings, to be encouraging to my dad, how to do my taxes, what hospitality really means, and more. She’s fantastic, and if I can be half the mother she is – I’ll be blessed.

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” – Washington Irving

IMG_4767

Leave a Reply

