I’m Not Waiting for the Next Adventure Anymore

venice italy

Venice, Italy 2012

Do you ever read those photo essays written by photographers, journalists, and travel gurus that claim to have the 100 Places To See Before You Die?

Everyone has a bucket list of places they want to visit: The Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal, New York City, The Great Barrier Reef, The Grand Canyon, etc. It’s as if their lives just won’t be complete unless they get to climb the Eiffel Tower or Machu Pichu.

Ever since I started this blog, the tagline has been: “waiting for the next adventure.” You can see it at the top. I went to Spain excited for the adventure each weekend brought: Morocco, Barcelona, Paris, Dublin, etc etc.

I came home ready for a break from traveling, but eagerly anticipating the next chance to fly away. This ended up as an opportunity to serve (and climb a Volcano and see a soccer game) in Costa Rica.

Only a few months after that trip, I road tripped with my family in New England for the first time – New Hampshire, Maine, Boston, Connecticut, etc. Over the past two years, I’ve spent tons of weekends in Arlington exploring DC, Maryland, and NoVa.

It’s the Millennial in me that is constantly craving newness and “adventure.” All I ever hear from my peers is their secret fear that they’ll take a job and be “stuck” there. Or that they’ll never get the opportunity to “see the world” after age 25. This is the time to do it, right?

But me? Not anymore.

I’ve come to realize that adventure isn’t waiting for me across the world. And I’m not here waiting for it. I’m living it now. Can’t adventure be everyday life? Isn’t life an amazing gift that we are privileged to live? So what if I go to the same office, sit in the same chair, and talk to the same people everyday? I don’t have to be jet-setting to Buenos Aires or Egypt to be truly living.

That’s what all those journalists have it wrong. It’s their job to feed your wanderlust, your discontent, and to persuade you to buy that next plane ticket, book that next hotel – – or at the very least, pin their pictures to your Travel board on Pinterest.

Your adventure? It’s waiting for you in that morning cup of coffee you might share. It’s there in the seemingly-mundane errands or tasks you have to do this weekend. It’s in that Saturday morning jog, that phone call with a new client, or your new classes and students this spring.

I’m finally changing that tagline to something I really believe.

Living the next adventure.

4 thoughts on “I’m Not Waiting for the Next Adventure Anymore

  1. Interesting point of view! I guess I could be part of the “evil journalist” feeding the wanderlust to the people :o, nevertheless, I totally agree that there is no such thing as “getting stuck in a job”, actually, I’m sure that “9 to 5ers” constitute the majority of the travel industry and the “perpetual backpackers” are a minority. A very vocal minority.

    • Thanks for your feedback! I have my own “wanderlust” Pinterest board, and I love every photo essay and travel blog ever written! I certainly don’t want to stop them from being published. :)

      I would absolutely agree – you have to make money to spend it, and most people could never afford to live the “perpetual backpacking” lifestyle. I just read an article about a Spanish couple who spend 400+ days backpacking around the world, and although I would love to see half the things they did, I don’t want their lives.

Leave a Reply

