The Gift of Christian Community

#4: Today’s gift is Wheatland Presbyterian Church.

wheatland presbyterian church lancaster pa
Image Credit: Wheatland Pres Facebook

One of the biggest priorities for me when I first moved to Lancaster was to find a church family. I had always had an easy in since I grew up as a Pastor’s kid.  Everyone knew who I was, and I never had to go out of my way to meet people or make friends. But in Lancaster I was alone, anonymous, and just one person in the sanctuary.

I’m thankful that I had to be the “new person” at a church where I didn’t know anyone. Why? It’s hard. It’s uncomfortable. But it showed me how awfully inhospitable I had been to people visiting the churches I grew up in. How often did I go out of my way to talk to someone new? The number of times that happened is embarrassingly low.

I’m thankful for the solid gospel witness I see at Wheatland. I’m thankful for the beautiful music, which is different every week – using both old and new songs and a variety of instrumentation. I’m thankful for the spirit of tolerance to differing secondary doctrinal beliefs, the joy in worship, and the welcoming attitude of the people around me. 

One thought on “The Gift of Christian Community

Leave a Reply

