The Gift of Offering Time

#2: The Gift of Offering Time

bookmark

I started volunteering with an ESL program with one of my roommates this Fall. Hands down this has been one of the single most influential things I have been fortunate to do. My students are so wonderful and I learn so much from them every week. They are eager to learn and they try so hard. They keep me grounded and from feeling self-pity. If they can move from Mexico to Lancaster without much of their family, I certainly can’t deal with my move across the state. Not to mention I don’t have to deal with a language barrier.

One of my students, Noemi, just went back to Honduras, but as a parting gift, she gave us bookmarks to remember her. It’s a reminder to me of how God was able to use my gifts for a few hours every week for His glory. I’m thankful that I have this opportunity to use my gifts to serve others.

Leave a Reply

