Life in the Row House

560522_10153200337235529_890471094_n

Life isn’t the same as it was three weeks ago.

Life is our little row house is peaceful and quiet, although not the same as the Farm. I don’t live in the nicest part of Lancaster – I couldn’t afford that – but I don’t live in the ghetto either. I live in a very Hispanic part of the city with Haitian, Puerto Rican, and Salvadorian (I think) neighbors on our block. We’re known as the “white girl” house apparently, but just a few streets away are really beautiful brick homes that are very well kept. It’s not dangerous, although I wouldn’t walk down the street by myself at 2am. But that’s just common sense.

It takes me 4 minutes to drive to work – if that – and I’m only minutes away from friends, grocery stores, and downtown. I love the convenience and I love the people. I’m so glad to have roommates – just having people around the house to talk to in the mornings or evenings is nice. I’m really enjoy talking to Mary Ellen, Erin, and Lizzie. They are sweet girls and easy to live with. They are fairly low maintenance, although (thankfully) we all have high cleanliness and organizational standards. I almost never see a dirty dish in the sink or someone’s stuff left on the bathroom counter. (Is this what Heaven is like? I think it must be.)  Our only problem is that this house has a high turnover rate. Except it’s mostly girls leaving to get married. I took the place of a girl who got married the day I moved in, and next month Mary Ellen leaves to get married. So girls, if you’re looking to get married – you should move in here. This house is like the magic you need to find a man.

1184793_10153245229195529_888106411_n

Work is going well enough, I’ve been running a few times a week with the goal of doing a 5k this Fall. Maybe it’s not a big deal for many of my friends, but I’ve always hated running, so a 3 mile run is an accomplishment for me.  Bible study has started up again, and we’re doing One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. I’ve only read the first two chapters but I already love this book and I’m so excited to see how it’ll impact my life. My mother told me that it helped change her outlook on life, grace, and thankfulness. And if I can develop the grace and thankful heart that my mother has – I’ll be in good shape.

The book is all about finding good, seeing God’s grace, and being thankful for all the little things in life – or the seemingly bad things we run into. I can already see how it’s helping me be more thankful and accepting of God’s grace. Instead of being frustrated by traffic (yeah I know I shouldn’t complain about Lancaster traffic), I can be thankful that I have a car and a reason to be stuck in traffic (I have a job). Instead of dreading Monday mornings, I can be thankful that I have a full-time job, and a pretty good one at that. Even the little things, like yesterday’s run that wasn’t as successful as I wished: I’m still able to run! Isn’t that great?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not great at this. I’m still learning to be like this continually. But it’s nice to sit and reflect on this and how good I have it. Has anyone else read this book?

3 thoughts on “Life in the Row House

  1. I read that book – wonderful, encouraging, and so helpful! Love reading your blog! So thankful for how God is working in your life, Caitlin. We miss you! :)

Leave a Reply

