Welcome to Lancaster

1004742_10152933046445529_1767980642_n

Employment

It was February when I got my first job offer. It had been a whirlwind of an application process… meaning that I applied, a few hours later had an email response, and within two weeks a job offer. I hadn’t expected it to be that fast, and I was nervous to take it without really looking seriously at any other possibilities.

Fast forward to July and it’s already been a month since I started working for them. It’s a great job for a college grad-  it’s not just a full-time job with benefits, but it’s using the degree I just spent four years getting. That’s kind of a big deal for graduates these days, am I right?

I’m trying to keep this in mind as I sit here in my apartment alone in a city with very few friends and no family. It’s been a stressful month adjusting to living alone (I come from a family of 7 and  barely had my own room growing up) and a new job with responsibilities like paying back debt and insurance and stuff like that. There’s definitely been tears and a feeling of  “this will never get better.”  But, even when I feel like this will never be home, I’m trying to remember how incredibly blessed I am. God doesn’t give us more than we can handle, so I know I’ll make it.

lancaster farm

Life on a Farm

So here’s the basic scoop of my life. For the summer I’m living on a farm south of Lancaster. We have acres of corn, a handful of cows, a donkey, a rooster, and two chickens. Oh, and a plethora of cats who won’t come near me and a resident fox that keeps killing the chickens.  In September I’m moving to downtown Lancaster and living with a few other girls in a duplex where our neighbors speak Spanish (I’m thrilled!). I’m really really excited to live with other people and to be just a mile from my job. Although I’ll still miss the peace and quiet of farm life.

I have a job doing search engine optimization and social media marketing in downtown Lancaster. I went through training really fast since I had just taken a class in SEO which basically covered everything from training. After two weeks they gave me client work which was a little scary, but it’s kind of fun. I’m learning a lot everyday, although my eyes are going to be so shot after a year of staring at a computer screen all day. :/

My co-workers are young and very nice, so they’ve been a great resource so far. I have made a few other friends, and my landlords have 6 kids (mostly married with kids) who come by a lot. I’ve made friends with a few of their grandkids who are the cutest little girls. I still find any excuse to spend the weekends in DC with my boyfriend and his family. Since they are only two hours from me, it’s a very easy weekend trip. With all the weddings and trips I’m taking this summer, it’s not likely that I’ll really settle into my life here until September, but that’s OK for now.

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Lancaster

Leave a Reply

