tortilla, playa, fondue

Be prepared, dear readers, because the next few months will be nothing but glimpses of paradise in my beloved Malaga.

The title of this album pretty much sums up my weekend: food and the beach.

Tortilla Espanola

If you’re from America, you probably think a tortilla is that circular wrap that we use for mexican food. Well, that’s “tortilla americana”. If you get a tortilla in Spain – you’re going to get a mix of hash browns & eggs.

ISA hosted a cooking class for the American students here to teach us how to make this & gazpacho. Well, it tasted nothing like the one my host mother makes (her’s is uh-mazing) & also at least 4 students got sick that weekend. (I think the eggs weren’t cooked enough)

One of my new Spanish friends taught me how to make it correctly – so get ready family – I’m making this when I get home. And it will be delish. According to him, I never learned to beat eggs correctly & even though I cook with care – I lack the love that tortilla espanola needs. I blame it on the language/culture barrier.

The rest of the day Saturday was spent discovering new parts of the Malaga shoreline & city. I can’t get over how pretty Malaga is. That night Ryan & I elected to stay in and watch American TV & research summer job opportunities.

Sunday morning I was unable to go to church because there was a large “manifestacion” outside my apartment and on the main street of Malaga, and I couldn’t figure out how I was supposed to find and catch my bus when everything was blocked off. So I went home disappointed.

In the Mediterranean

Ryan & I spent all Sunday afternoon at the playa malagueta. It was a perfect beach day, and I even convinced myself to study some Spanish grammar while we were there. Although I admit we spent most of the time watching the adorable little Spanish boys racing their dad in the sand. If anyone thought I had baby fever, they need to meet my roommate.

And tonight, Emma made chocolate fondue for dinner. I’m fairly certain it’s on the govt’s new  “food plate” diagram.

… wait, what, that’s just my diagram?

With our fondue, we had “fresitas”, “bananitas”, “peritas”, “naranjitas,” and etc. Emma refers to everything with the diminutive “ita/ito” – it’s basically assigning a cuteness or smallness or preciousness element to whatever it is. Ricardo makes fun of her for it, and will imitate her in a ridiculous way. Emma also says everything is “que preciosa”, which I picked up and have been made fun of for doing. I love her even if I won’t learn to talk like a normal person around her. :) Not that my English is any better – “presh” and “delish”, anyone?

Emma with Ryan & I

Fondue

 

One thought on “tortilla, playa, fondue

  1. “According to him, I never learned to beat eggs correctly & even though I cook with care – I lack the love that tortilla espanola needs”

    Why does this sound like the woman on the Isle of Capri who sings to her boiled eggs so they turn out well? LOL

Leave a Reply

