Dinner Theatre

An alternate title to this post would be: “The Funny Things my Host Parents Say”.

Emma & Ricardo are an older, retired couple (65ish) that are both originally from Argentina. They both love cooking, and Emma also loves sewing. They both are involved with Malaga history and tours in some way – but I don’t understand enough Spanish to really understand what they do.  Ricardo has studied a little german, and Emma knows a little English. Oh, and Ricardo actually knows a little english. He can say the words “Crazy”, “Drinking”, and “Dancing”. He and Emma describe everything as “crazy” – and every weekend, he asks us if we are going “drinking” and “dancing”.  (More about nightlife some other time haha)

Ryan & I absolutely adore them, and they wait on us hand and foot. If we ask for anything, Emma says “whatever your heart desires”. Tonight when I offered to help with the dishes, she said “no mi amor!! este es tu vacacion! no puedes ayudarme.” And then she smacked me on the butt and pushed me out of the kitchen. (Family – i expect this treatment when I return home.) Ricardo on the other hand, will tell us “si, tu puedes, pero es un euro.”(yes, you can have it, but i’ll cost you a euro)

I spend sooo much time laughing whenever we talk to them. They often eat dinner at a different time, so typically they are watching a spanish game show (a mix of jeopardy and wheel of fortune) while we eat. They usually know the answers to the questions, while Ryan & I pepper them with questions, “Que significa ___?” (what does __ mean?). And they go on and on about how stupid the younger spaniards are that they don’t even know the answers to these questions, “ahh la pregunta! que tonta!” (that question is silly!)

Two nights ago, there was a crazy 80s music marathon on VH1, and Ryan and I were singing Michael Jackson’s “beat it” (SHOUT OUT TO DPHIS!) and doing some of the dance moves in between bites of food. They thought it was hilarious, and then Ricardo told us how “cuando era joven… hace muuuuucho muuucho anos… asistia escuela y trabajaba lunes, martes, miercoles, jueves… pero – viernes. sabado. domingo… Tooodas las noches… bailaba.” (when i was younger i went to school during the week but on the weekends i went dancing every night) And then he proceded to get up and show us dance moves that I guess are associated with Phil Collins of Genesis? Not sure, but Ryan and I were under the table in stitches.  He also went on the name several other 80s artists that he used to listen to, and it was sooo funny trying to figure out who they were by his VERY HEAVY spanish accent on their names. 

And then he will constantly ask us what some english things mean in spanish. Yesterday I explained what the lyrics of Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You” were in Spanish. And then today I tried to explain what Tears for Fears meant in Spanish. My stumbling spanish was something like, “que es la palabra para las cosas que tiene cuando llorar?” (as I’m drawing tears down my cheeks with my fingers) He got it: they’re called “lágrimas”. So I said the band name was “Lagrimas Por Miedos” (Tears For Fears).

This is just another example of how the game of gestures is CONSTANTLY being played in our lives right now. Ricardo speaks slowly and often will only use hand motions to communicate with us – even though we can understand him perfectly fine because he has wonderful, beautiful argentinian spanish.

As soon as I get a picture of them, I will post it. But stay tuned because I’ve got loads of hilarious things spaniards say, as well as future plans of intercambios, nightlife, and a trip to Morocco this weekend!

Hasta luego!

One thought on “Dinner Theatre

  1. Just FYI – DON’T expect the same treatment when you get home. The house will be in shambles by the time we get back and I will just have to call you Cinderella.

Leave a Reply

